Usually city dwellers boast of large wide streets and avenues. However, there are also opposite situations.
All of them are concentrated in the center or not far from it, which allows you to explore them in one walk.
This 100-meter street is hidden in the center of Kharkov between Gogol and Chernyshevsky streets.
The lane appeared at the end of the 19th century. Initially, it was called Provisions, because of the warehouse in which grain supplies were stored. Building No. 4, where the warehouse was located, has survived to this day – it was built at the end of the 18th century. The street was renamed in 1972 in honor of the Soviet actor Ivan Maryanenko, who played at the Shevchenko Theater.
Located between Mechnikov Lane and Teatralnaya Square. Its length is about 140 meters.
In the old city center, it appeared in the 19th century under the name Little German. A few years later it was renamed in honor of Grigory Donets, Colonel of the Kharkiv Slobodsky Cossack Regiment and the Izyum Slobodsky Cossack Regiment.
Already in the twentieth century, the street was first renamed in honor of the Soviet statesman Mikhail Frunze, then the name Donets-Zakharzhevsky was again returned. After the liberation of Kharkiv, the name of Frunze was again returned to the street, in 1950 – again Donets-Zakharzhevsky.
Of the interesting old buildings on the street – building No. 5, the former tenement house of the major homeowner Isaac Freiman . Building No. 6 housed a former printing house, and building No. 6/8 was a former Frunze book factory.
At the corner of the street and Teatralnaya Square was Lev Rubinstein’s mansion , which was dismantled in the 1990s for the planned construction of a new Philharmonic building.
A lane about 150 meters long is located between Voennaya and Bohdana Khmelnitsky streets.
It appeared in the second half of the 19th century – it has been on the list of Kharkov streets since 1869. It was named after one of the Kharkov townspeople Pavlenko – presumably Anton.
A two-hundred-meter lane starts from Alchevskikh Street and turns to Vesnin Street.
It appeared in the second half of the 19th century and managed to change several names – Cemetery, Diocesan, Artem Lane (in honor of the revolutionary and Soviet leader).
In 2015, it was given the name Designersky – the dormitory of the Academy of Design and Arts is located on this street.
Besides the fact that this is one of the most famous old streets of Kharkov, it is also included in the top of the shortest (about 230 meters). The street is hidden between Marshal Bazhanov Street and Teatralny Lane.
Among the interesting buildings here are the House of the Black Hundreds under No. 14 and the building where the authors of the novel “12 Chairs” Ilf and Petrov (No. 16) stayed .
According to rumors, there used to be one of the city brothels on the street.